OUR TEAM

Laurie Beaudonnet

Laurie Beaudonnet
Scientific director (UdeM)

laurie.beaudonnet[at]umontreal.ca

Office: 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, room: 515-52

Laurie Beaudonnet (PhD, European University Institute) is Assistant Professor of European politics at the University of Montreal (Department of Political Science). As Jean Monnet Chair at the University of Montreal (2015-2019), she is deeply involved in teaching EU studies and supporting students’ research on the EU (EuroScope Project). She further serves as co-director of the academic network RESTEP, which focusses on politicisation processes in the EU. Her research focuses on political attitudes, elections, and public opinion in the European Union, using quantitative and qualitative methods. Recent publications include “A Threatening Horizon: The Impact of the Welfare State on Support for Europe” (JCMS: Journal of Common Market Studies), “Red Europe versus no Europe? The impact of attitudes towards the EU and the economic crisis on radical-left voting” (West European Politics), and “Preferences for European Social Policy in Times of Crisis” (Politique Européenne). She is currently principal investigator of Autre(s) Europe, a comparative study on the meaning of the European Project for citizens (funded by the Fonds de Recherche du Québec – Société et Culture) and co-principal investigator of MARP (Mapping Anti-Roma Prejudice in the EU-28), a comparative study of media coverage attitudes towards Roma.

Maria Popova

Maria Popova
Scientific director (McGill)

maria.popova[at]mcgill.ca

Office: 3438, rue McTavish, room: 301

Maria Popova (PhD, Harvard) is an Associate Professor of Political Science at McGill University. Her research focuses on judicial reforms, the politicization of law, political corruption, and the link between rule of law and peaceful protest. Prof. Popova is the author of Politicized Justice in Emerging Democracies (Cambridge University Press 2012). She is currently completing an SSHRC and FRQSC-funded project on the prosecution of high-level political corruption in seven Eastern European states. She writes about the role of the EU in promoting judicial reform and clean government in Ukraine, Bulgaria, and Romania. Her research has won prizes by the American Political Science Association and the American Association for Ukrainian Studies and has appeared in Comparative Political Studies, Daedalus, Europe-Asia Studies, Problems of Post-Communism, Demokratizatsiya, and other journals and edited volumes. She is also an occasional contributor to the Monkey Cage Blog at the Washington Post and has written for Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, VoxUkraine, the Globe and Mail and Kyiv Post.

Juliet Johnson

Juliet Johnson
Associated researcher (McGill)

juliet.johnson[at]mcgill.ca

Office: 855, rue Sherbrooke, room: Leacock 509

Juliet Johnson is Professor of Political Science at McGill University and director of the academic network BEAR. Her research focuses on money and banking in post-communist Europe and on post-communist memory politics. She is the author of Priests of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World (Cornell 2016) and A Fistful of Rubles: The Rise and Fall of the Russian Banking System (Cornell 2000), as well as of articles in the Journal of Common Market Studies, Journal of European Public Policy, and Review of International Political Economy (RIPE), among others. She was Lead Editor of RIPE from 2011-14 and Co-Editor from 2007-10, and sits on RIPE’s International Advisory Board. In fall 2014, she designed and taught the first interdisciplinary graduate seminar organized around the EUCE speaker series, the JMCM predecessor. At McGill she has served on the Board of Governors and as Associate Dean for the Faculty of Arts, and won the Faculty’s Fieldhouse Award for Distinguished Teaching. She received her PhD from Princeton University.

Frédéric Mérand

Frédéric Mérand
Associated researcher (UdeM)

frederic.merand[at]umontreal.ca

Office: 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, room: 581-13

Frédéric Mérand (PhD, Berkeley) is Professor of Political Science at the Université de Montréal, Director of the Montreal Centre for International Studies (CÉRIUM) and co-Director of the academic network RESTEP. He is an expert of European foreign policy and of sociology of international relations. Former advisor of foreign policy, he has been Visiting Professor at Toronto, Strasbourg, Toulouse, Lille, and Guido Carli de Rome. His current work focuses on burden-sharing in international organizations, policy surrounding the purchase of fighter planes, and the decline of the great powers. He is also associate editor of Politique européenne, the only peer-reviewed journal in French devoted to the European Union. His works on european security, political networks, transatlantic relations, and the sociology of the European Union have been published in Security Studies, the Journal of Common Market Studies, Comparative European Politics, the European Journal of Political Research, West European Politics and Cooperation and Conflict. In 2015, he was elected on the Council of the European Union Studies Association (EUSA) at the Boston Conference.

Luna Vives
Associated researcher (UdeM)

luna.vives@umontreal.ca

Office: 520 Chemin de la côte Sainte Catherine, room: 332-3

Luna Vives is a specialist in international migration. She studies the strengthening of European and North American borders to stop unwanted migration and its impact on vulnerable migrant populations. Her current work focuses on the violation of the rights of unaccompanied minors and the militarization of search and rescue (SAR) operations in the western Mediterranean. She holds a PhD from the University of British Columbia and a postdoctoral fellowship from McGill University.

Pascale Devette
Associated researcher (UdeM)

pascale.devette@umontreal.ca

Office: 3200, Jean-Brillant, room: C3124

Pascale Devette is an Assistant Professor at the University of Montreal in the Department of Political Science. She did her thesis at the University of Ottawa (political theory) and the Université Paris-Diderot (political philosophy) on the thoughts of Albert Camus, Simone Weil and Hannah Arendt. Her research focuses on the question of tragedy, disproportion, violence, the stories of survivors of borderline experiences and work philosophy. Her current work is part of the field of critical and feminist thinking, questioning the notions of vulnerability, precariousness, gender and materiality.

Alix Vuitton
Coordinator

alix.vuitton[at]umontreal.ca

Office: 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, room: 515-60

Alix Vuitton is a Master’s student, thesis option, in political science at the University of Montreal. She is interested in the assistance provided by the European Union in the democratisation processes in Africa. From 2017 to 2019 she was involved in the Simulation of the Council of the European Union as a delegate for internal affairs (2017-2018) and then as President (2018-2019).

Aïssatou Baldé
Assistant-coordinator

aissatou.balde[at]umontreal.ca

Office: 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, room: 515-60

OUR TEAM

Laurie Beaudonnet

Laurie Beaudonnet
Directrice scientifique (UdeM)

laurie.beaudonnet[at]umontreal.ca

Bureau : 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, local : 515-52

Laurie Beaudonnet (PhD, Institut universitaire européen) est professeure adjointe de politique européenne à l’Université de Montréal (Département de science politique). En tant que chaire Jean Monnet à l’Université de Montréal (2015-2019), elle est profondément impliquée dans l’enseignement des études européennes et soutient la recherche d’étudiants sur l’UE (projet EuroScope). Elle est également co-directrice du RESTEP, un réseau académique sur les processus de politisation dans l’UE. Ses recherches portent sur les attitudes politiques, les élections et l’opinion publique dans l’Union européenne, à l’aide de méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives. Parmi ses publications récentes, on peut citer”A Threatening Horizon: The Impact of the Welfare State on Support for Europe” (JCMS: Journal of Common Market Studies), “Red Europe versus no Europe? The impact of attitudes towards the EU and the economic crisis on radical-left voting” (West European Politics), and “Preferences for European Social Policy in Times of Crisis” (Politique Européenne). Elle est actuellement chercheuse principale dans Autre (s) Europe, une étude comparative sur la signification du projet européen pour les citoyens (financée par le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et Culture) et co-chercheuse principale de MARP (Mapping Anti-Roma Prejudice in the EU-28), une étude comparative des attitudes de la couverture médiatique à l’égard des Roms.

Maria Popova

Maria Popova
Directrice scientifique (McGill)

maria.popova[at]mcgill.ca

Bureau : 3438, rue McTavish, local : 301

Maria Popova (PhD, Harvard) est professeure agrégée de science politique à l’Université McGill. Ses recherches portent sur les réformes judiciaires, la politisation du droit, la corruption politique et le lien entre l’État de droit et la protestation pacifique. Elle est l’auteure de « Politicized Justice in Emerging Democracies » (Cambridge University Press 2012). Elle termine actuellement un projet financé par le CRSH et le FRQSC sur les poursuites pour corruption de haut niveau dans sept États d’Europe orientale. Elle publie sur le rôle de l’UE dans la promotion des réformes judiciaires et d’un gouvernement propre en Ukraine, en Bulgarie et en Roumanie. Ses travaux de recherche ont été primés par la American Political Science Association et la American Association for Ukrainian Studies. Ils ont été publiés, entre autres, dans Comparative Political Studies, Daedalus, Europe-Asia Studies, Problems of Post-Communism et Demokratizatsiya. Elle collabore aussi occasionnellement au blog Monkey Cage du Washington Post et a écrit des articles pour Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, VoxUkraine, le Globe and Mail et Kyiv Post.

Juliet Johnson

Juliet Johnson
Chercheure associée (McGill)

juliet.johnson[at]mcgill.ca

Bureau : 855, rue Sherbrooke, local : Leacock 509

Juliet Johnson est professeure de science politique à l’Université McGill, et directrice du réseau académique BEAR. Ses recherches portent sur l’argent et les banques dans l’Europe post-communiste et sur les politiques de mémoire post-communistes. Elle est l’auteure de « Priests of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World » (Cornell 2016) et « A Fistful of Rubles: The Rise and Fall of the Russian Banking System » (Cornell 2000), ainsi que d’articles, entre autres, dans le Journal of Common Market Studies, Journal of European Public Policy, and Review of International Political Economy (RIPE). Elle a été rédactrice principale de RIPE de 2011 à 2014 et co-rédactrice de 2007 à 2010, et siège au conseil consultatif international de RIPE. À l’automne 2014, elle a conçu et enseigné le premier séminaire interdisciplinaire organisé autour du cycle de conférences du EUCE, le prédécesseur du CJMM. À l’Université McGill, elle a siégé au conseil des gouverneurs et a été vice-doyenne de la Faculté des arts. Elle a également remporté le prix Fieldhouse de la Faculté pour son enseignement distingué. Elle a obtenu son doctorat de l’Université de Princeton.

Frédéric Mérand

Frédéric Mérand
Chercheur associé (UdeM)

frederic.merand[at]umontreal.ca

Bureau : 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, local : 581-13

Frédéric Mérand (Ph.D., Berkeley) est professeur de science politique à l’Université de Montréal, directeur du Centre d’études internationales de Montréal (CÉRIUM) et co-directeur du réseau académique RESTEP. Il est expert en politique étrangère européenne et en sociologie des relations internationales. Ancien conseiller en politique étrangère, il a été professeur invité à Toronto, Strasbourg, Toulouse, Lille et Guido Carli de Rome. Ses travaux actuels portent sur le partage du fardeau dans les organisations internationales, la politique d’achat des avions de combat et le déclin des grandes puissances. Il est également éditeur associé de Politique européenne, la seule revue française à comité de lecture consacrée à l’Union européenne. Ses travaux sur la sécurité européenne, les réseaux politiques, les relations transatlantiques et la sociologie de l’Union européenne ont été publiés dans Security Studies, le Journal of Common Market Studies, Comparative European Politics, le European Journal of Political Research, West European Politics et Cooperation and Conflict. En 2015, il a été élu au Conseil de l’Association des études de l’Union européenne (EUSA) lors de la conférence de Boston.

Luna Vives
Associated researcher (UdeM)

luna.vives@umontreal.ca

Bureau : 520 Chemin de la côte Sainte Catherine, local : 332-3

Luna Vives est spécialiste en migration internationale. Elle étudie le renforcement des frontières européennes et nord-américaines pour arrêter la migration non désirée et son impact sur les populations migrantes en situation de vulnérabilité. Ses travaux actuels portent sur la violation de droits des mineur.e.s non accompagné.e.s et sur la militarisation des opérations de recherche et sauvetage (SAR) dans la Méditerranée occidentale. Elle détient un doctorat de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et un postdoctorat de l’Université McGill.

Pascale Devette
Associated researcher (UdeM)

pascale.devette@umontreal.ca

Bureau: 3200, rue Jean-Brillant, local: C3124

Pascale Devette est professeure adjointe à l’Université de Montréal au département de science politique. Elle a fait sa thèse à l’Université d’Ottawa (théorie politique) et à l’Université Paris-Diderot (Philosophie politique) sur les pensées d’Albert Camus, de Simone Weil et d’Hannah Arendt. Ses recherches portent sur la question du tragique, de la démesure, de la violence, des récits des rescapé.e.s d’expériences limites et de la philosophie du travail. Ses travaux actuels s’inscrivent dans le champ de la pensée critique et féministe, en interrogeant les notions de vulnérabilité, de précarité, de genre et de matérialité.

Alix Vuitton
Coordinator

alix.vuitton[at]umontreal.ca

Bureau : 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, local : 515-60

Alix Vuitton est une étudiante en maîtrise, option mémoire, en science politique à l’université de Montréal. Elle s’intéresse aux aides apportée par l’Union européenne dans les processus de démocratisation en Afrique. De 2017 à 2019 elle s’est impliquée au sein de la Simulation du Conseil de l’Union européenne en tant que délégué aux affaires internes (2017-2018) puis en tant que présidente (2018-2019).

Aïssatou Baldé
Assistant-coordinator

aissatou.balde[at]umontreal.ca

Office: 3744, rue Jean-Brillant, room: 515-60