Associate Students

Roberto Angrisani

roberto.angrisani.1[at]ulaval.ca

Roberto is a researcher in European Union Law, and a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar. He is currently a second-year PhD student in the Faculty of Law at the Université Laval (Quebec), under the supervision of Pr. Olivier Delas, who holds a Jean Monnet Chair in European Integration in which he is involved as a research-assistant. He is also an associate member of the Centre de droit international et transnational at the Law Faculty. His research aims at identifying the ways in which the protection of human rights in European criminal proceedings are being harmonized, through a study of the Court of Justice’s case law. Prior to that, he obtained an MA in Law from the University Federico II in Napoli, and he was a trainee lawyer at the Napoli Bar. He also worked as a project manager in the Italian embassy in Dakar in 2011, and he founded a cooperation development organization in Western Africa.

Laurent Borzillo

laurent.borzillo[at]neuf.fr

Laurent Borzillo is a PhD candidate in political science at the University of Montreal and the University of Montpellier. He works under the joint supervision of Frédéric Mérand (University of Montreal) and Jean Joana (University of Montpellier). Laurent holds a Master’s degree in Political Science and a Master’s degree in Military History from Sciences Po Aix. He has previously worked at the Bundestag and at the French Ministry of Defence. His research focuses on security studies, contemporary cooperation in the security and defence field, and in particular on the bi/multi-national expeditionary forces in Europe (Franco-German Brigade, EU Battle Groups).

Tristan Boursier

tristan.boursier[at]umontreal.ca

Tristan Boursier is a PhD student in political science at the Université de Montréal and at Sciences Po Paris (cotutelle). His research focusses on the structuring of social solidarity policies in the midst of cultural diversity. In his PhD project, he deals with theoretical and normative approaches to the concept of non-domination in the constitution of fair multicultural solidarity policies. His supervisors are Charles Blattberg and Réjane Sénac. Tristan obtained a Master’s degree in political science at the University of Geneva. He further studied at the University of Ottawa (Canada) and at Saint Joseph University in Beirut (Lebanon).

Rachel Bleetman

rachel.bleetman[at]mail.mcgill.ca

Rachel Bleetman arrived in Montreal 5 months ago to start her Masters at McGill University. She did her Undergraduate degree in Government at the London School of Economics with a final dissertation on the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) and the protection of minorities. She will be continuing with this subject for her Masters in Political Science where she will be researching the domestic implementation of the rulings of the ECHR in the United Kingdom specifically in a time of rising British Euroscepticism.

Shannon Dinnan

shannon.dinan[at]umontreal.ca

Shannon is a PhD candidate in political science at the University of Montreal. She is the recipient of the Doctoral Fellowship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council and the CORIM Prize from the Montréal Council on Foreign Relations. Her thesis analyzes how welfare states have modified their active social policies for youth since the financial crisis. As part of her doctoral research, she was a student fellow at the Centre d’études européennes et de politique comparée at Science Po Paris, the Department of Business and Politics and the Copenhagen Business School and the Policy Network in London. Her research interests include public and the welfare state.

Juliette Dupont

juliette.dupont[at]umontreal.ca

Juliette Dupont is a PhD candidate in political science at the Université de Montréal. She graduated from Sciences Po Lille and she has worked for one year as a political advisor at the Senate Finance Committee, in Paris. Her dissertation deals with political economy of EU border control. More specifically, Juliette studies the evolving combination of security-oriented and market-oriented practices in designing and implementing Schengen visa policy. Her research leads her to explore fieldworks in Brussels, Algiers and Beijing.

Ahmed Hamila

ahmed.hamila[at]umontreal.ca

Ahmed Hamila is a PhD student in political science under a co-supervision agreement between the Université de Montréal and Université libre de Bruxelles. His doctoral thesis focuses on the implementation of European asylum policies related to gender in France, Belgium and the United Kingdom. His research interests are the European Union, sociology of administration, gender studies, migration and theories of citizenship.

Daniela Heimpel

daniela.heimpel[at]umontreal.ca

Daniela Heimpel is a PhD candidate in political science at the University of Montréal and the University of Nantes. Specialized in political theory, her thesis addresses the issue of a European citizenship education. Her broader research interests include European integration, civic education, citizenship, democracy and pluralism. She co-directed (with Saaz Taher) a collective volume on “Challenges of Pluralism”, published in 2018 at the Presses de l’Université de Montréal (original title in French: “Les défis du pluralisme”). In 2017, she published the article “Former le citoyen européen? Réflexions sur le concept d’éducation civique dans le cadre de l’intégration politique transnational de l’Europe” in Eurostudia.

Anne-Marie Houde

anne-marie.houde[at]umontreal.ca

Anne-Marie Houde is a political MA student at the Université de Montréal. In her MA thesis, she deals with public opinion in the EU. More specifically, her research focuses on the eurosceptic vote among the electorate favorable to the EU integration, which she analyzes using data from surveys and interviews conducted in France.

Saulius Mykoliunas

saulius.mykoliunas[at]vdu.lt

Saulius Mykoliunas is a PhD student in Political Science at Vytautas Magnus University (UVM, Lithuania). In the framework of his Erasmus + doctoral exchange, he is a visiting doctoral student at CERIUM and the Jean Monnet Programme of the Université de Montréal. His doctoral research focuses on the influence of Emmanuel Macron’s new policy in the formation of the EU’s foreign policy, notably on the EU’s relations with Canada, China and Russia. He holds a master’s degree in pharmacology science from the University of Health Sciences of Lithuania and studied international organisations law at the University Paris-1 (Sorbonne-Panthéon, DESS). He is a former UNESCO official, co-founder of the University Center of the Francophonie countries at the UVM, and a member of the editorial board of the journal Hermès (CNRS, Paris). His expertise and research interests focus on the European Union’s political processes, nationalism, foreign interference and cyber attacks, the EU’s Eastern and Southern partnerships, and political communication. He speaks French, English, Lithuanian, Polish and Russian.

Skye Miner

skye.miner[at]mail.mcgill.ca
PhD Candidate, Department of Sociology, McGill University
Bio coming soon

Antoine Mounier

Antoine Mounier is currently doing a Master’s in political science at UdeM. The debates concerning how European integration have reshaped democratic space have interested him for a long time. To address this question, he is working, under the supervision of Laurie Beaudonnet, on the mechanisms of national accountability and how this links to attitudes towards the EU.

Johannes Müller Gómez

johannes.muller.gomez[at]umontreal.ca

Johannes Müller Gómez is a doctoral researcher at the Ludwig Maximilians Universität Munich and the Université de Montréal (co-tutelle). His research centres on the functioning of multi-level systems and comparative federalism with special focus on EU and Canadian politics, EU institutions German EU policy coordination, matters of democracy and legitimacy and climate action. Johannes Müller Gómez studied political science, Latin American studies and energy economics at the universities of Cologne, Montréal, Guadalajara and Liège as well as at the Higher School of Economics in Moscow. 

Sabrina Paillé

spaille[at]yorku.ca

Sabrina Paillé is a PhD candidate in Sociology at York University, Toronto, where she is also pursuing a Graduate diploma program in German and European studies. In 2018, she was a Visiting Student in the Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology at Central European University in Budapest.Her research focuses on nationalism, right-wing populist movements and anti-immigration reactions in contemporary Europe. She is on the governing board of the European Community Studies Association – Canada’s Young Researchers Network. Sabrina was a recipient of the Joseph Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship (2015-2018) and the Ontario Graduate Scholarship (2018-19).

Marie-Solenne Percolides

marie-solenne.percolides[at]umontreal.ca

Marie-Solenne Percolides is a MSc student in Political Science at Université de Montréal. As part of her supervised project under Magdalena Dembinska, she studies the construction mechanisms of a European identity within the European Union. She’s also completing a complementary degree in German Studies in the European context at the Canadian Centre for German and European Studies, as well as the micro-programme for teaching in post-secondary institutions. Her research interests include sociology of religions, collective political identities, European integration and the mechanisms of identity resistance.

Imène Torkhani

imene.torkhani[at]umontreal.ca

Imène Torkhani is a P.hD. student in political science at the University of Montréal. Her research focuses on the impact of international organizations on education policies. Her thesis focuses on the role of international institutions and especially the European Union and the OECD regarding the improvement of education policies in Europe. She works under the joint supervision of Jean-Philippe Thérien and Frédéric Mérand. She holds a BA and Master in Anglophone Studies from the University Paris-Denis Diderot. She was an exchange student for her two years of Master in the United States, at Sarah Lawrence College (NY) and at the University of Buffalo (NY). 

Anthony Weber

anthony.weber.1[at]ulaval.ca

Anthony Weber is a PhD student in political science at Laval University. He has a Masters in European Governance of the University of Luxembourg and a Masters in Philosophy from the University of Lorraine. His research focuses on the budgetary control of parliaments within the EU. His thesis highlighted the marginalization of national parliaments in the European decision-making system, perceiving phenomenon through gradual confiscation of budgetary prerogatives of parliament by the executive powers.

Étudiant.es associé.es

Roberto Angrisani

Chercheur en droit de l’Union européenne récipiendaire de la bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier), Roberto Angrisani est dans sa deuxième année de doctorat à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Laval (Québec), sous la direction du Pr. Olivier Delas, titulaire de la chaire Jean Monnet en intégration européenne, à laquelle il est rattaché en tant qu’étudiant-chercheur. Il est également associé au Centre de droit international et transnational de la faculté. Ses recherches visent à définir les voies d’harmonisation en matière de protection des droits de la personne dans les procédures pénales européennes, à travers la jurisprudence de la Cour de justice. Auparavant, il a obtenu une maîtrise en droit de l’Université Federico II de Naples et est devenu avocat-stagiaire au Barreau de Naples. Il a également travaillé en tant que chargé de projets de coopération à l’ambassade d’Italie à Dakar en 2011, et a fondé un organisme de coopération au développement en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Laurent Borzillo

Laurent Borzillo est candidat au doctorat en science politique à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Université de Montpellier. Il effectue ce dernier en cotutelle de thèse sous la direction de Frédéric Mérand et de Jean Joana. Il détient un double master de Sciences Po Aix (diplôme de SciencesPo grade Master et master en histoire militaire). Il a auparavant travaillé au Bundestag et au sein du Ministère français de la Défense. Ses recherches portent sur les études de sécurité, les coopérations actuelles dans le domaine de la sécurité et de la défense, et plus particulièrement sur les corps expéditionnaires bi/multi-nationaux en Europe (Brigade franco-allemande, groupements tactiques européens).

Tristan Boursier

Tristan Boursier est doctorant en science politique à l’Université de Montréal et à Sciences Po Paris (cotutelle). Ses recherches portent sur la structuration des politiques de solidarités sociales en milieu de diversité culturelle. Son projet de thèse est centré sur une approche théorique et normative du concept de non-domination dans la constitution de politiques de solidarités multiculturelles justes. Son travail est dirigé par Charles Blattberg et Réjane Sénac. Il a obtenu un Master en Science politique à l’Université de Genève. Une partie de sa formation s’est effectuée à l’Université d’Ottawa (Canada) et à l’Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth (Liban).

Rachel Bleetman

Rachel Bleetman est arrivée à Montréal il y a 5 mois pour entreprendre une maîtrise en science politique à l’Université McGill. Auparavant, elle a complété un diplôme de premier cycle à la London School of Economics avec un mémoire portant sur la Cour Européenne des Droits de l’Homme. Elle continuera à étudier ce sujet pour son mémoire de maîtrise en se penchant particulièrement sur la mise en oeuvre nationale des jugements de la Cour Européenne au Royaume-Uni, dans le contexte d’un euroscepticisme accru.

Shannon Dinnan

Shannon est docteure en science politique à l’Université de Montréal. Récipiendaire de la Bourse de doctorat du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines et du Prix CORIM (Conseil des relations internationales de Montréal), sa thèse porte sur les politiques sociales actives pour les jeunes. Au cours de ses recherches, elle a été doctorante associée au Centre d’études européennes et de politique comparée à Science Po Paris, le Department of Business and Politics de la Copenhagen Business School et au Policy Network à Londres. Ses intérêts de recherche incluent la politique publique et l’État-providence.

Juliette Dupont

Juliette Dupont est doctorante en science politique à l’Université de Montréal depuis septembre 2016. Diplômée d’un master en affaires internationales et européennes de Sciences Po Lille, elle a travaillé un an à la Commission des Finances du Sénat.
Sa thèse, dirigée par Frédéric Mérand en co-direction avec Sabine Saurugger (Sciences Po Grenoble), s’intitule provisoirement “Le visa Schengen, verrou ou vitrine ?”. Elle compare les différences de mise en oeuvre de la politique de visa Schengen par les acteurs européens en Chine et en Algérie, où il existe des écarts de taux de refus considérables. Impliquant plusieurs terrains à l’étranger, notamment à Alger, Beijing ou encore Bruxelles, la recherche de Juliette bénéficie d’un financement du FRQSC. Depuis 2017, elle est également coordinatrice du réseau de recherche Erasmus+ RESTEP (Réseau Transatlantique sur l’Europe Transatlantique).

Publications les plus récentes.

Dupont Juliette (accepté pour publication), “Entre sécurité et rentabilité : évolutions du cadrage de la politique de visa Schengen de 1995 à 2015”, Politique Européenne, à paraitre.

 

Ahmed Hamila

Ahmed Hamila est doctorant en science politique selon une convention de cotutelle entre l’Université de Montréal et Université libre de Bruxelles. Sa thèse de doctorat porte sur la mise en œuvre des politiques européennes d’asile liées au genre en France, en Belgique et au Royaume-Uni. Ses intérêts de recherche sont l’Union européenne, la sociologie de l’administration, les études de genre, les migrations et les théories de la citoyenneté.

Daniela Heimpel

Daniela Heimpel est candidate au doctorat en science politique à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Université de Nantes (cotutelle internationale). Elle prépare une thèse en théorie politique sur la question de l’éducation à la citoyenneté européenne. Ses intérêts de recherche plus larges incluent l’intégration européenne, l’éducation civique, la citoyenneté, la démocratie et le pluralisme. Elle a co-dirigé avec Saaz Taher un ouvrage collectif sur « Les défis du pluralisme : au-delà des frontières de l’altérité », paru en 2018 aux Presses de l’Université de Montréal. En 2017, elle a publié l’article « Former le citoyen européen? Réflexions sur le concept d’éducation civique dans le cadre de l’intégration politique transnationale de l’Europe » dans Eurostudia.

Alix Vuitton

Alix Vuitton est une étudiante en maîtrise, option mémoire, en science politique à l’université de Montréal. Elle s’intéresse aux aides apportée par l’Union européenne dans les processus de démocratisation en Afrique.

Saulius Mykoliunas

Saulius Mykoliunas est doctorant en sciences politiques à l’université Vytautas Magnus (UVM, Lituanie). Il est doctorant invité au CERIUM et au Programme Jean Monnet de l’université de Montréal dans le cadre d’échanges doctoraux d’Erasmus+. Ses recherches doctorales se situent au sujet de l’influence de la nouvelle politique d’Emmanuel Macron dans la formation de la politique étrangère de l’Union européenne, notamment, sur les relations de l’UE avec le Canada, la Chine et la Russie. Il est aussi diplômé de master en sciences de pharmacologie de l’université des Sciences de la santé de Lituanie et a étudié à l’université Paris-1 (Sorbonne-Panthéon) en DESS le droit des organisations internationales. Il est ancien fonctionnaire de l’UNESCO et cofondateur du Centre universitaire des pays de la Francophonie à l’UVM, membre du Comité de rédaction de la revue Hermès (CNRS, Paris). Son expertise et les intérêts de recherche se focalisent autour des processus politiques de l’Union européenne, les nationalismes, les ingérences étrangères et la cyber attaque, les partenariats de l’UE de l’Est et de Sud, la communication politique. Il parle français, anglais, lituanien, polonais et russe.

Skye Miner

Candidate au doctorat au département de sociologie de l’Université McGill.
Bio à venir

Antoine Mounier

Antoine Mounier est étudiant d’origine française résident à Montréal depuis 3 ans. Il est actuellement inscrit à la maîtrise de science politique option mémoire de l’Udem. Intéressé depuis longtemps par les débats relatifs à la recomposition de l’espace démocratique qu’implique l’intégration européenne, il travaille, sous la supervision de Laurie Beaudonnet, sur les mécanismes d’imputabilité nationaux et le lien avec les attitudes vis-à-vis de l’UE.

Johannes Müller Gómez

Johannes Müller Gómez est doctorant à la Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität de Munich et à l’Université de Montréal (co-tutelle). Dans ses recherches, il s’intéresse au fonctionnement des systèmes multi-niveaux et au fédéralisme comparé, à la politique européenne et canadienne, aux institutions européennes, aux questions de démocratie et de légitimité et à l’action climatique. Johannes a étudié la science politique, les études latino-américaines et l’économie de l’énergie aux universités de Cologne, Montréal, Guadalajara et Liège ainsi qu’à l’École des hautes études en sciences économiques de Moscou. 

Sabrina Paillé

Sabrina Paillé est doctorante en sociologie à l’Université York à Toronto, ou elle est également inscrite au diplôme complémentaire en études allemandes et européennes. En 2018, elle était étudiante invitée au Département de sociologie et d’anthropologie sociale de la Central European University à Budapest. Ses recherches portent sur le nationalisme, les mouvements sociaux de droite et les réactions anti-immigration en Europe. Elle est membre du conseil d’administration du Réseau des jeunes chercheurs de l’Association d’Études sur la Communauté Européenne – Canada. Sabrina a été récipidendaire de la Bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armand-Bombardier (2015-2018) et de la Ontario Graduate Scholarship (2018-2019).

Marie-Solenne Percolides

Marie-Solenne Percolides est présentement étudiante à la maîtrise en science politique à l’Université de Montréal. Dans le cadre de son travail dirigé, sous la direction de Magdalena Dembinska, elle étudie la question des mécanismes de construction de l’identité européenne au sein de l’Union. Elle complète en parallèle de sa maîtrise un diplôme complémentaire en études allemandes dans le contexte européen, offert par le Centre canadien d’études allemandes et européennes, ainsi que le microprogramme de formation en enseignement postsecondaire. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la sociologie des religions, les identités politiques collectives, l’intégration européenne et les mécanismes de résistance identitaire.

 Imène Torkhani

Imène Torkhani est une candidate au doctorat de science politique à l’Université de Montréal. Ses recherches portent sur l’impact des organisations internationales sur les politiques d’éducation. Son projet de thèse porte sur le rôle des institutions internationales, notamment de l’Union Européenne et de l’OCDE dans l’amélioration des politiques d’éducation en Europe, sous la direction de Jean-Philippe Thérien et Frédéric Mérand. Elle a obtenu son bachelor et son Master en Etudes Anglophones à l’Université Paris-Denis Diderot. Elle a réalisé ses deux années de Master aux Etats-Unis, à Sarah Lawrence College (NY) et à l’Université de Buffalo (NY), en programme d’échange avec l’Université Paris-Diderot.

Anthony Weber

Anthony Weber est étudiant au doctorat en science politique à l’Université Laval.  Il est détenteur d’une maîtrise en gouvernance européenne de l’université du Luxembourg et d’une maîtrise en philosophie de l’université de Lorraine. Ses recherches portent sur le contrôle budgétaire des parlements au sein de l’Union européenne. Son mémoire de maîtrise mettait en lumière la marginalisation des parlements nationaux dans le système décisionnel européen, phénomène se percevant à travers une confiscation progressive des prérogatives budgétaires des parlements par les pouvoirs exécutifs.

Mathilde Nouvel

mathilde.nouvel[at]umontreal.ca

Étudiante en maîtrise, en science politique à l’Université de Montréal.

Bio à venir